Shelving servers

Shelving is useful if you have an server that you are not using, but would like retain in your list of servers. For example, you can shelve a server at the end of a work week, and resume work again at the start of the next week. All associated data and resources are kept; however, anything still in memory is not retained. If a shelved server is no longer needed, it can also be entirely removed.

You can run the following shelving tasks:

  • Shelve a server - Shuts down the server, and stores it together with associated data and resources (a snapshot is taken if not volume backed). Anything in memory is lost.
    • Using the actions menu on the "List Servers" view.
      Screen_Shot_2017-06-07_at_12.13.45.png

    • Or using the CLI tools.
      $ openstack server shelve SERVERNAME
  • Unshelve a server - Restores the server.
    • Using the actions menu on the "List Servers" view.
      Screen_Shot_2017-06-07_at_13.01.43.png
    • or using the CLI tools.
      $ openstack server unshelve SERVERNAME
  • Remove a shelved server - Removes the server from the server; data and resource associations are deleted. If a server is no longer needed, you can move the server off the hypervisor in order to minimize resource usage.
    • $ nova shelve-offload SERVERNAME

 

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License

Except where otherwise noted, this document is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
Changes were made based on the original Openstack User guide

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.